Thursday, January 30, 2014

Daily Schedule Revisited (11 Months)

Ben is *just* about 11 months old (he will be in two days) so I rounded up. I am definitely due for a schedule update. The last one was at 7 months, and since then I have stopped breastfeeding and changed my work schedule (gave up my flex day, which was every other Friday, in exchange for leaving one hour earlier each day and working from home on Wednesdays). Really, the changes to the schedule aren't monumental, but here we go!

Enjoying his morning cheerios. This is from yesterday.
We had to have a quick photo sesh, because it was the first time he wore this hat.

Workday Schedule (11 month old and Formula/bottle-fed)

5:45am - Dan wakes up, gets ready.

6:00am - Dan wakes me up, I beg him for five fifteen more minutes. I finally wake up around 6:15/6:20 and get ready. I shower or bathe the evening before, so during this time I put on my make-up, straighten or curl my hair, and get dressed. If Ben gets up during this time, Dan gets him until I am ready.

6:45am - 7:00am - Dan usually leaves to go retrieve his Starbucks. If it is a Tuesday, he also drops Shelbs off at doggy daycare during this time.* I go downstairs and make all of Ben's bottles for the day (one for the morning, and three to take to daycare). I pack any other items in his daycare bag.

7:00am - 7:15am - I wake up Ben, hold him for a bit, give him his bottle, change his diaper, and pick out his outfit.

7:15-7:25am - I call down to Dan, and he comes up and dresses Ben. If I haven't made Ben's bottles yet and packed his bag (if Ben wakes up earlier), then I do that during this time. Otherwise, I will get all of my stuff ready for work ready (make my coffee, pack any food I want for the day). Dan brings Ben downstairs and puts him in his highchair with some cheerios and puffs (we used to give him oatmeal cereal, but he stopped eating it and just didn't seem that hungry in the morning. He eats more at daycare when he gets there). I kiss Ben, Dan, and Shelbs goodbye (Ben could care less, Shelby whimpers, Dan usually gives me the cheek because I have a cold), and I run out the door.

7:25-8:00am - Commute to work. I usually eat my breakfast (a Luna bar or granola bar) and drink my coffee on the way.

7:30am - Dan leaves the house to take Ben to daycare.

7:45am/8:00am - Dan drops off Ben at daycare and heads to work.

4:00pm - I leave work and drive like Cruella Deville to daycare, because I miss my son. I may call my sister or a friend (using Bluetooth! I'm safe!) and chat on the way there.

4:30pm - I arrive at daycare to pick up Ben. He is either crawling around or hanging out in a swing. It's a little strange when I look around the room and realize he is one of the older babies now. They really do grow up so fast! (tear).

4:50pm - Arrive home.

4:50pm-5:30 - Hang out with Ben. Getting home an hour earlier is awesome. I get to just sort of relax with Ben for at least a half hour before I have to start dinner. I let Shelby out, de-winterize us, turn on the space heater, and we play for a while.

5:30-6:15pm - Depending on how hungry he seems or I am, I may start to make some dinner at this time. While I do that, I usually put Ben in his jumper. I will usually just throw something quick together - chicken nuggets, pasta, left overs, canned or frozen veggies, etc. Then Ben and I will eat dinner together, while Shelby hawkishly waits for Ben to drop things. Sometimes, Ben and I will wait to eat until Dan comes home if he is getting home a bit earlier, bringing dinner home, or if Ben just doesn't seem to be overly tired or hungry yet.

6:15/6:30pm - Dan gets home. At this time, I am either having dinner with Ben, waiting for Dan to have dinner, or getting Ben into the tub.

6:15-6:45pm - We finish dinner, and I bathe Ben (I still do this only every other night, unless he gets particularly dirty sooner). Dan cleans the kitchen. If I have made something really messy, I give Dan the choice of either bathing Ben or cleaning the kitchen. I make sure to inform him that this includes any dirty pots or pans. He always chooses bathing Ben. Dan cut himself on a pot once (I know), and now he is scared of them.

6:45-7:00pm - Dan usually hangs out with Ben while I get stuff ready for bed for him (bottle-making, pacifiers in the crib, straighten up Ben's room and bathroom).

7:00pm - Give Ben his bottle and rock him for a while. He is usually asleep by 7:15pm. Bedtime might start a little later if we have waited longer for dinner. Dan normally washes bottles while I am putting Ben to sleep.

7:30pm-10pm- I normally go straight to the bathtub for a hot bath after Ben goes to sleep. Then, Dan and I watch some tv and chill. I may do some laundry. I do not pick out my clothes for the next day. I like to do that in 30 seconds the morning of, preferably from a wrinkled pile on the floor.

10:00pm - We go to bed. Wash, rinse, repeat.

A few things to note: Life has definitely gotten easier and less hectic. I feel like I have more time, and I am not rushing around as much. This is probably because I legitimately do have more time (since I get home an hour earlier now). Also, there is a big difference in having a 11 month old versus a 4 or 6 month old. Maybe it is due to less bottles/nursing, I don't know, but there is just more free time. Also, since I stopped breastfeeding, I have more time. First, bottle feeding is faster. Second, I am not pumping anymore. Third, there is less paraphernalia to wash. This is not to put down breastfeeding at all, I would do it all over again (for the savings alone! Formula be expensive, yo!), I just have a bit more time now. (I think the same would maybe be true anyway, for a kid who is just getting older, if you take pumping out of the equation). Finally, Dan isn't running in the evenings anymore. Things quieted down for him on that front after his marathon. Hopefully, he can work his runs into the morning routine when he wants to.

*Shelby goes to doggie daycare on Tuesdays because that is when we have the housekeeper come (I can't leave her there or else she would totally annoy them the whole time). Although the housekeeper only comes every other week, it is easier to just keep our schedule consistent each week with the dog walker. All other days (except for Wednesdays**), our sweet dog walker comes to walk Shelbs in the middle of the day so she can do her business.

**I work from home on Wednesdays now. Our schedule is still pretty much the same, except for Dan and I sleep in about a half hour later, because I don't have to get ready (or even brush my teeth!!!!). Ben still goes to daycare, etc. etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment